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of high schools described in this Article, and shall have authority to make
any by-laws for their government not at variance with the provisions of
this article.

See notes to sec. 192.

Chapter 18. Schools for Colored Children.

An. Code, sec. 131. 1904, sec. 124. 1888, sec. 96. 1872, ch. 377. 1904, ch. 584.
1916, ch. 506, sec. 131. 1922, ch. 382, sec. 131.

200. It shall be the duty of the county board of education to establish
one or more public schools in each election district for all colored youths,
between six and twenty years of age, to which admission shall be free,
and which shall be kept open not less than one hundred and sixty (160)
actual school days or eight months in each year; provided, that the colored
population of any such district shall, in the judgment of the county board
of education, warrant the establishment of such a school or schools,

See sec. 211, et seq.; also sec. 256.

An. Code, sec. 132. 1904, sec. 125. 1888, sec. 97. 1870, ch. 311. 1872, ch.377, sub-ch. 18, sec. 2.
1874, ch. 463. 1916, ch. 506, sec. 132.

201. Each colored school shall be under the direction of a district
board of school trustees, to be appointed by the county board of educa-
tion subject to the provisions of Section 8 of this article, and schools for
colored children shall be subject to all the provisions of this Article.

An. Code, sec. 132A. 1918, ch. 81, sec. 132A. 1920, ch. 118, sec. 132A. 1922, ch. 382, sec. 132A.

202. No teacher regularly employed in the public schools for colored
children in the State of Maryland shall receive a salary of less than forty
dollars ($40) per month ; provided that if such teacher holds a third grade
certificate of the first class and has taught in the public schools for colored
children in the State of Maryland for a period of three years, such teacher
shall receive a salary of not less than forty-five dollars ($45) per month.

No teacher regularly employed in the public schools for colored chil-
dren in the State of Maryland, holding a second grade certificate, shall
receive a salary of less than fifty dollars ($50) per month; provided that
if such teacher holds a second grade certificate of the first class and has
taught in the public schools for colored children in the State of Maryland
for a period of three years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not less
than fifty-five dollars ($55) per month; provided, further, if such teacher
holds a second grade certificate of the first class and has taught in the

public schools for colored children in the State of Maryland for a period
of five years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not less than sixty dol-
lars ($60) per month. '

No teacher regularly employed in the public schools for colored chil-
dren in the State of Maryland, holding a first grade certificate, shall re-
ceive a salary of less than sixty-five dollars ($65) per month; provided,
if such teacher holds a first grade certificate of the first class and has
taught in the public schools for colored children in the State of Maryland
for a period of three years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not less



