2470 ArTtICcLE T7.

kept with care and accuracy, and unless all reports required by the county
superintendent of schools have been properly made and submitted.
A teacher who has been wrongfully removed and holds herself in readiness to

teach is entitled to compensation if she was unable to obtain other employment.
Underwood v. School Commissioners, 103 Md. 190.

An. Code, sec. 60. 1908, ch. 635, sec. 1224E. 1910, ch. 420, sec. 1224E (p. 226).
1916, ch. 506, sec. 60. 1918, ch. 106, sec. 60. 1920, ch. 118, sec. 60.
1922, ch. 382, sec. 60. .

90. No white teacher regularly employed in a public school of the State
of Maryland shall receive a salary of less than six hundred dollars ($600)
per school year. Provided, if such teacher holds a third grade certificate
of the first class and has taught in the public schools of the State of Mary-
land for a period of three years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not
less than six hundred and fifty dollars ($650) per school year.

No white teacher regularly employed in a public school of the State of
Maryland, holding a second grade certificate, shall receive a salary of less
than seven hundred and fifty dollars ($750) per school year. Provided,
if such a teacher holds a second grade certificate of the first class and has
taught in the public schools of the State of Maryland for a period of three
years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not less than eight hundred
dollars ($800) per school year. Provided, if such teacher holds a second
grade certificate of the first class and has taught in the public schools of the
State of Maryland for a period of five years such teacher shall receive a
salary of not less than eight hundred and fifty dollars ($850) per school
year. ]

No white teacher regularly employed in a public sthool of the State of
Maryland, holding a first grade certificate, shall receive a salary of less
than nine hundred and fifty dollars ($950) per school year. Provided, if
such a teacher holds a first grade certificate of the first class and has taught
in the public schools of the State of Maryland for a period of three years,
such teacher shall receive a salary of mot less than one thousand and fifty
dollars ($1,050) per school year. Provided, further, if such a teacher holds
a first grade certificate of the first class and has taught in the public schools
of the State of Maryland for a period of five years, such teacher shall receive
a salary of not less than eleven hundred dollars ($1,100) per school year.
Provided, further, if such a teacher holds a first grade certificate of the
first class and has taught in the public schools of the State of Maryland
for a period of eight years, such teacher shall receive a salary of not less
than eleven hundred and fifty dollars ($1,150) per school year; and
provided, further, that such teacher holding a first grade certificate, and
serving as principal of a one or two teacher school, shall receive at least
one hundred dollars ($100) a year more than the amount required for such
teacher by the foregoing schedule.

No white elementary school principal holding an elementary school prin-
cipal’s certificate, and serving as principal of a school having three or more
teachers, including the principal, shall receive a salary of less than eleven
hundred and fifty dollars ($1,150) per school year; provided, that if such
principal holds an elementary school principal’s certificate of the first class,



