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State of Maryland unattended by competent persons, and when such herds
of live stock are so attended, there shall be at least one attendant preced-
ing such herd of live stock at a distance of not more than one hundred
yards, and an attendant as driver of said herd not more than one hundred
yards in the rear thereof, which said front and rear attendants shall, after
thirty (30) minutes after sunset until sunrise carry a red lighted lantern
to warn all persons approaching said herd from either direction so that
proper precaution may be taken with reference to passing said herd; pro-
vided that nothing in this sub-title shall apply to farmers or dairymen
in driving their herds to and from pasture or to and from different farms
or parts of farms owned or occupied by them.

An. Code, sec. 47. 1918, ch. 475,

53. 1In case such herds are not attended in the manner set forth in the
preceding section, the owner or owners of said herds shall, upon convie-
tion thereof be subject to a fine of not less than $5.00 and not more than
$25.00 for each and every offense, the same to be collected by suit before
any Justice of the Peace in the county in which said offense was com-
mitted, and any such fines imposed shall be paid to the Commissioner of
Motor Vehicles of the State of Maryland, for the use of the improved
highways of the State.

An. Code, sec. 48. 1918, ch. 475.

54. Five or more live stock shall constitute a herd for the purpose
of this sub-title.



