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not less than five dollars ($5.00) nor more than fifty dollars ($50.00)
for the first offense, and a fine of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor
more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each additional offense or
subsequent offenses.

An. Code, sec. 194. 1916, ch. 610, sec. 6.

257. All Acts or parts of Acts inconsistent therewith, are hereby re-
pealed to the extent of said inconsistency, but nothing herein shall be
construed to relieve any owner or operator of such motor vehicles as are
herein defined from any regulation otherwise imposed by law or lawful
authority.

Public Freight Motor Vehicles.

An, Code, sec. 195. 1916, ch. 714, sec. 1. 1918, ch. 304, sec. 1. 1922, ch. 401, sec. 2.
1924, ch. 291, sec. 195.

258. Tt shall be the duty of each owner of a motor vehicle to be used
in the public transportation of merchandise or freight, operating over
State, State Aid, improved County Roads, and Streets and Roads of
incorporated towns and cities in the State of Maryland, to secure a permit
from the Public Service Commission of Maryland to operate over said
roads and streets, and present same to the Motor Vehicle Commissioner
annually at the time and according to the method and provisions prescribed
by law for owners of all other motor vehicles to make an application in
writing for registration with the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, and
to state in said application besides the other matters by law provided, the
carrying capacity as given by manufacturer of such motor vehicles, the
route on which said motor vehicle is to be used, whether reserve or substi-
tute cars are maintained by the applicant to be used only in emergencies,
and if so, the number of such reserve and substitute cars and a complete
description of each, and when in use same to be designated by a special
marker to be furnished by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, the length
of the route in miles on State, State Aid, improved County roads, and
Streets and Roads of incorporated towns and cities the weight of the
vehicle when empty, the schedule under which it shall operate during
the ensuing year, and for all such motor vehicles, except reserve or sub-
stitute vehicles, the following annual fee shall be pa‘ld to the Commissioner
of Motor Vehicles for certificates of registration issued by him, and no
other additional fees, license or tax, shall be charged by the State or any
municipality thereof, except property tax in respect to such vehicles or
their operation.

Class “ X ”’: Motor vehicles weighing three tons or less, including the
carrying capamty shall each be charged and pay one-sixth (%c ) of a cent
per each ton mile multiplied by the total number of miles that said appli-
cation shall show will be traveled by such motor vehicle over State, State
Aid, improved County Roads and Streets and Roads of incorporated Towns
and Cities in the State of Maryland, during the year for which said cer-
tificate is issued.



