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issue an appropriate certificate over his signature and sealed with the seal
of his office, procured and used for such purpose. Said certificate shall
contain such description and other evidences of identification of said motor
vehicle as the Commissioner may deem reasonably necessary and proper,
together with a statement of any liens or encumbrances which the applica-
tion may show to be thereon. The charge for each original certificate so
issued shall be one dollar ($1.00), which charge shall be in addition to the
charge for the registration of such motor vehicle. Said certificate shall be
good for the life of the car so long as the same is owned or held by the
_otiginal holder of such certificate, and shall not have to be renewed annually.
In the case of motor vehicles now owned and already registered in this
State during the year 1920, an application for a certificate of title, accom-
panied by such evidences of ownership and liens as the Commissioner may
require, shall be made within ninety (90) days after June 1, 1920. Im-
mediately upon the passage of this Act, it shall be the duty of the Com-
missioner of Motor Vehicles to cause to be printed copies of this section
and Section 203 of this Article, and to mail to every person to whom he
has issued a certificate of registration for the year 1920, one of such printed
copies accompanied by a specific notice that the title of such motor vehicle
must be registered as herein provided. After the expiration of said ninety
days, it shall be unlawful and a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not
less than five dollars ($5.00) nor more than one thousand dollars
($1,000.00) for any person to operate in this State a motor vehicle under
a Maryland registration number unless such certificate of title shall have
been issued as herein provided. In the event of the sale or transfer of the
ownership of a motor vehicle for which an original certificate of title has
been issued as aforesaid, the original holders of such certificate shall en-
dorse on the back of the same an assignment thereof with warranty of title
in form printed thereon with a statement of all liens or encumbrances on
said motor vehicle, and deliver the same to the purchaser or transferee at
the time of the delivery to him of such motor vehicle. The purchaser or
transferee shall then present such certificate, assigned as aforesaid, to the
Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, at the time of making application for
the registration of such motor vehicle, whereupon a new certificate of title
shall be issued to the assignee, the charge therefor being one dollar ($1.00).
Said origingal certificates, when so assigned and returned to the Commis-
sioner, together with subsequent assignments of reissues of certificates,
shall be retained by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles and appropriately
indexed so that at all times it will be possible for him expeditiously to trace
title to the motor vehicle designated therein. Beginning with the expiration
of ninety days from June 1, 1920, and thereafter, it shall be unlawful and
a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than five dollars ($5.00).
nor more than one thousand dollars ( $1,000.00) or by imprisonment for
not more than ten (10) years, or both, for any one to sell or to purchase
within the limits of this State any motor vehicle registered in Maryland
after January 1, 1920, unless at the time of the delivery thereof there shall
pass between the parties such certificate of title with an assignment thereof
in the form prescribed by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. Any



