2008 ArTICLE 56.

‘ommissioner of Motor Vehicles of the State of Maryland and the Collec-
tor of Taxes, or other proper authority, of the District of Columbia, to
provide for the terms upon which said license tags are to be issued,
refused, or cancelled to provide for the distribution of the funds-derived
from the issuance of said license tags by the State of Maryland and the
District of Columbia, and to authorize the issuance of said joint license
tag upon the payment to the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles of Mary-
land or his agent of the fee fixed by law for the issnance of ordinary motor
vehicle license tags within the State of Maryland. -

See sec. 224.

PART 1V.
Operation of Motor Vehicles—Markers.
An. Code, sec. 147. 1916, ch. 687. 1918, ch. 85, sec. 147. 1920, ch. 506, sec. 147.

192. Every motor vehicle, except motor cyclés, and as hereinafter
otherwise provided, shall at all times while being used or operated in this
State, have displayed, entirely unobscured and kept reasonably clean, the
number plates or markers issued by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
for such motor vehicles as hereinbefore provided.

One of such plates or markers shall be displayed conspicuously on the
front and the other on the rear of such motor vehicle, both to be fastened
so as not to swing. Every motor cycle or bicycle with motor attachment,
while being used or operated in this State, shall have displayed on the
rear thereof a plate or marker furnished by the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles as aforesaid, said plate or marker to be so fastened as to be en-
tirely unobscured and to be kept reasonably clean and fastened so as not
to swing.

No motor vehicle while used or operated in this State shall have dis-
played upon either the front or the rear of such vehicle more than two
plates or markers, or any expired plate or marker issued by any State
or Federal District, nor shall any person display or permit to be dis-
played upon any motor vehicle operated in this State the registration
number issued to another vehicle or person other than the owner thereof,
or a fictitious number plate or marker, provided, however, in the event
of the sale of a motor vehicle, the purchaser may, for a period of five
days, and no longer, operate such motor vehicle under the number assigned
to it and shall have and display on the demand of any proper officer the
actual gonsent in writing of such previous owner to use such number; and
provided also that where it clearly appears that the registration number
has been lost by accident, and application has been made for a duplicate
within twenty-four hours there after, no penalty shall be imposed.

No person shall display any registration marker for which a duplicate
or substitute has been issued.

Any person violating any provision of this section shall be deemed
guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, subject to a fine of not less
than ten dollars ($10. 00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100.00)
for the first offense.



