590 PUBLIC EDUCATION. [ ART. LXXVII

ing positions, and no provisional certificate may be issued by a county
superintendent when it is possible to employ persons holding regularly
issued certificates; nor shall persons be employed holding third grade
certificates, when it is possible to employ persons holding second grade
certificates, nor shall persons be employed holding second grade certifi-
cates when it is possible to employ persons holding first grade certifi-
cates.

1904, art. 77, sec, 56. 1888, art. 77, sec. 52. 1872, ch. 377. 1904, ch. 584.
1916, ch. 506, sec. 58.

58. Teachers’ certificates shall be of two classes: first class and sec-
ond class. All teachers’ certificates issued by the state superintendent
of schools shall, when issued, be of the second class, and shall be subject
to clagsification by the county superintendent. The certificates of all
the teachers employed shall be classified by the county superintendent,
not less than once in two years. In determining the class of the certifi-
cate of a particular teacher, the following points are to be considered:
(a) Scholarship; (b) executive ability; (¢) personality, and (d) teach-
ing power. The county superintendent may add such other require-
ments as are approved by the superintendent of public education. The
county superintendent shall keep a record of the kind, grade and class
of certificate held by each teacher employed in the county, and on or
before the first day of October each year, he shall submit to the county
board of education a list of all the teachers employed, together with the
kind, grade and class of their certificates, and a copy of this report
shall be transmitted to the state superintendent of schools.

1904, art. 77, sec. 57. 1888, art. 77, sec. 53. 1872, ch. 377. 1904, ch. 584.
1912, ch. 138. 1916, ch. 506, sec. 59.

«59. The salaries of teachers shall hereafter be paid monthly, during
the school year on or before the tenth day of the ‘calendar month suc-
ceeding that for which the salary is due. No teacher shall be entitled
to receive payment for services unless all the current records of the
school have been kept with care and accuracy, and unless all reports
required by the county superintendent of schools have been properly
made and submitted.

See notes to this section in volume 2 of the Annotated Code.

1908, ch. 6335, sec. 122 E. 1910, ch. 420, sec. 12214 K (p. 226). 1916, ch. 506.
sec. 60. 1918, ch. 106, sec. 60.

60. No white teacher regularly employed in a public school of the
State of Maryland shall receive a salary of less than four hundred dol-
lars ($400), per school year. Provided, if such a teacher holds a third
grade certificate of the first class and has taught in the public schools
of the State of Maryland for a period of three years, such teacher shall
receive a salary of not less than four hundred and twenty-five dollars
($425) per school year. Provided, further, if such a teacher holds a
third grade certificate of the first elass and has taught in the public



