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The section also arranges for a Vision Re-Examination of persons
who are licensed and reported by the Department of Social Services
as receiving public assistance for blindness. The Section also has the
duty of withholding the Application for Renewal of Operator’s License
of those persons who have an outstanding motor vehicle warrant for
moving traffic violations.

Division of Financial Responsibility
Clifton E. Luber, Director

The Financial Responsibility Division is responsible for the proc-
essing of accident reports and in providing some measure of protec-
tion to all citizens against personal injury or property damages
arising out of motor vehicle accidents. All persons involved in acci-
dents resulting in personal injuries or in property damage in excess
of $100 must report the accident to the Financial Responsibility
Division. Failure of an individual to report such accidents and his
failure to file evidence of financial responsibility in the form of a
Certificate of Insurance, or bond, or failure to secure releases from
other parties can result in the suspension of his driving privileges.
If he fails to satisfy final judgments of $100 or more, this can also
result in the suspension of his driving privileges pending compliance.

Division of Investigation
Woodrow B. Meek, Director

The Division of Investigation maintains a staff of sixty-five investi-
gators who secure the return of operators’ or chauffeurs’ licenses and
fags from those drivers who have had their privileges revoked or
suspended. These investigators also assist in determining whether or
not unsafe drivers have been sufficiently rehabilitated. They also assist
the Vehicle Registration Division in the regulation of automobile
dealers, auto wreckers and scrap processors in Maryland.

Division of Vehicle Registration
Gordon N. Wilcox, Director

The Division of Vehicle Registration is essentially responsible for
the titling and registration of all passenger and commercial motor
vehicles in Maryland. This Division also collects the four percent
Titling Excise Tax imposed on vehicles titled in the State and for
assessing and collecting the proper registration fees. These two
sources of revenue comprise the bulk of the approximately $115,000,000
which the Department anticipates collecting in the fiscal year 1971.
The Division also works closely with the Unsatisfied Claim and Judg-
ment Fund Board in determining whether or not an applicant for
license tags has his vehicle insured in the minimum amounts o
$15,000 and $30,000 for the personal injury liability and the $5,000
for property damage liability insurance. Any applicants who have
insufficient liability insurance must pay a specified fee into the Unsat-
%1sﬁed Claim and Judgment Fund before the Department can issue

is tags.

Theg Commercial Insurance Section administers the commercial
vehicle insurance laws of the State. These laws require that all
owners of commercial vehicles operating for hire within the State and
all taxicabs not operating under permit of the Public Service Com-
mission or not otherwise specifically exem})ted, be insured in the
minimum amounts of $25,000 and $50,000 for personal liability in-
surance and $10,000 for property damage liability and obtain a gratis
permit to be carried with the vehicle at all times.



