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The Division also maintains a staff of forty-nine investigators who
secure the return of operators’ or chauffeurs’ licenses and tags from
those drivers who have had their privileges revoked or suspended.
These investigators also assist in determining whether or not unsafe
drivers have bheen sufficiently rehabilitated. They also assist the
Vehicle Registration Division in the regulation of automobile dealers
in Maryland.

Division of Vehicle Registration

The Division of Vehicle Registration is essentially responsible for
the titling and registration of all passenger and commercial motor
vehicles in Maryland. This Division also collects the three percent
Titling Excise Tax imposed on vehicles titled in the State and for
assessing and collecting the proper registration fees. These two
sources of revenue comprise the bulk of the approximately $85,000,000
which the Department anticipates collecting in the fiscal year 1968.
The Division also works closely with the Unsatisfied Claim and Judg-
ment Fund Board in determining whether or not an applicant for
license tags has his vehicle insured in the minimum amounts of
$15,000 and $30,000 for the personal injury liability and the $5,000
for property damage liability insurance. Any applicants who have
insufficient liability insurance must pay a specified fee into the Unsat-
%lsﬁed Claim and Judgment Fund before the Department can issue

is tags.

The Commercial Insurance Section administers the commercial
vehicle insurance laws of the State. These laws require that all
owners of commercial vehicles operating for hire within the State and
all taxicabs not operating under permit of the Public Service Com-
mission or not otherwise specifically exempted, must file with the
Department a Certificate of Insurance in the minimum amounts of
$25,000 and $50,000 for personal liability insurance and $10,000 for
property damage liability and obtain a gratis permit to be carried
with the vehicle at all times.

The Automobile Dealer/Salesman Licensing Service administers the
dealer licensing and bonding laws of the State, Under these laws,
automobile dealers and their salesmen are required to meet certain
criteria established by law and enforced by the Department. For the
protection of both consumers and taxpayers, dealers and salesmen
are required to post security bonds of $5,000 and $10,000 respectively.
Dealers who violate the licensing and bonding provisions of the law
or other sections of the motor vehicle code relating to the titling and
registration of vehicles or who engage in unethical or unfair business
practices are subject to the loss of their licenses, The Automobile
Dealer/Salesman Licensing Service also issues bulletins periodically
advising dealers of changes in laws, procedures and rules and
regulations.

The Division of Vehicle Registration also cooperates with the State
Police and other law enforecement agencies in the administration of
the used car inspection program. The Division establishes the mini-
mum standards for used cars and also establishes procedures for the
suspension of the license tags of vehicles cited as unsafe by the
Automotive Safety Enforcement Division of the Maryland State Police
when the motor vehicle owner has not corrected any defects. The
Department prepares and distributes all forms for the administration
of the used car inspection law.

The Division of Vehicle Registration also administers the reciprocity
agreements with other States and jurisdictions and maintains both an
alphabetical and a numerical registration card filing system to aid
law enforcement and others who desire prompt vehicle registration



