JUDICIAL BRANCH

State
or other Minimum
jurisdiction age

Years
minimum
service

Judges
to whom
epplicable

Amount Amount of
of judge's
annuity contribution

VireINIA(T) ..... 66 10

60 25
WasHINGTON (7) 70(20) 10
18 (I' 43)

Any age

Any age 12¢3)

‘WEST VIRGINIA .. 65 16

8 8

‘WiscoNsIN(?) ... 656(*%) No minimum

WYOMING ....... 65 18(4%)

3/4 pay

8/4 pay

1/2 pay(%®)

8/4 pay 6%

409 of salary (%, %)

up to 3%¢(*?) Supreme,
chancery,
circuit,
corporation,
law and
equity, law
and chancery,
hustings

up to 3%(**) Chancery,
circuit,
corporation

1/2 pay 61/29, Supreme,
superior

Supreme,
superior

Supreme,

superior

61/2%

*9 61/2%

Supreme,
circuit

Supreme,
circuit

8/4 pay 6%

(1, %) ) Supreme,

circuit

none Supreme, district

* 16 COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS, THE Book
OF THE STATES, 1966-67, at 120-121 (1966). Re-
printed by permission.

1 Because the Alabama and Oklahoma constitu-
tions prohibit payment of p , retired judg
serve as supernumerary judges and are subject to
call to assist judges in their respective states.

2 60 if permanently and totally disabled.

3 Disabled judges in these states may retire on
pensions at any age if they have completed the
following number of years of service: Arizona, 5;
Towa and Oregon, 6; South Carolina and Virgina
(when certified by Supreme Court, at 2/3 pay),
7, North Carolina, 8; Florida, New Hampshire,
South Dakota, Tennessee and Washington, 10; Illi-
nois, Minnesota (Supreme), and Utah, 12; Minne-
sota (District), 15. In Alaska, 2 years if forced
to retire, 5 years in case of voluntary retirement;
in Georgia disabled Superior Court Judges may
retire at 62 after 10 years’ service; in Louisiana,
at full pay after 20 years; if less, in proportion
that years of service bear to 20, but 2/3 minimum.
Retirement pension allowed regardless of length of
gservice in Arkansas, California (at 65 per cent of
pay), Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, and New Jersey
(for Supreme and Superior Court Judges, at
full annuities).

4+ Or when age plus years of service equal 75.

54 per cent of salary received per year of
service; if payments start before age 65 for reasons
other than incapacity, computed on actuarial basis.

204

¢ Two-thirds of salary after 20 years’ service.
If fewer years, proportion that years of service
bear to 20.

7 Failure of judges to retire at 70 causes them to
lose all pension benefits in Arkansas and Minne-
sota. In Maine, retirement must occur before 71st
birthday, with 7 years service; in Massachusetts,
within 30 days after reaching 70. Retirement com-
pulsory at age 70 in Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii,
Illinois, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska,
New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Vermont,
Virginia (judges of courts of record) and Wiscon-
sin, except that in Kansas and Michigan a judge
may complete a term started before reaching 70.
Retirement compulsory at age 72 in Iowa, and at
age 75 in Oregon, Texas, Virginia (Supreme Court
Judges) and Washington. Temporary provisions
for incumbents exist in Arkansas, Connecticut,
Florida, Illinois, Iowa and Massachusetts. Retire-
ment is optional at 65 in Nebraska and Vermont,
at 55 in Wisconsin.

8 Retired judges, with their consent, may be as-
signed to any court in Arkansas, California and
Louisiana; they may be called to serve as referees
or commissioners in Missouri, and as emergency
judges in North Carolina.

® Pension is listed portion of salary being paid
to sitting justices. Amount of pension changes
with changes in salary, except that in Arkansas
pension cannot be more than half of salary fixed
by law on July 1, 1965.



