STATE OF MARYLAND
MARYLAND STATE ARCHIVES
350 ROWE BLVD
ANNAPOLIS, MD 21401

APPLICATION TO SEARCH FOR AND COPY BIRTH CERTIFICATE,
BALTIMORE CITY, 1875-1924 AND MARYLAND COUNTIES, 1898-1924

The Maryland State Archives CANNOT provide ANY birth certificates after the year 1924. For these, please
contact: Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Division of Vital Records, 6550 Reisterstown Road,
Reisterstown Road Plaza, Baltimore, MD 21215, telephone 410-764-3038

Please note that there are NO birth certificates existing for Baltimore City before 1875 and for the rest of the counties
before 1898.

Birth records are restricted by law for 100 YEARS. If the certificate you are requesting is more than 100 years old you do NOT need
any authorization to obtain a copy. If the certificate is LESS than 100 years old, but BEFORE 1925, a copy of a birth record may only be
issued to the person named on the Certificate; a parent or court-appointed guardian; a representative with a notarized letter signed by
the person named on the Certificate, a parent or guardian granting permission to obtain a Certificate; an individual with a court order
directing that the Certificate be issued; or an individual permitted to obtain a certificate under Md. Code Ann., Family Law Title 5,
Subtitles 3A or 4B relating to adoptions. Persons requesting their own certificate should submit a legible copy of their VALID
GOVERNMENT-ISSUED PHOTO ID with completed application (i.e. State issued driver’s license or non-driver photo ID with
requestor’s current address, passport) or two of the following: utility bill, car registration form, pay stub, bank statement, copy of
income tax return/W-2 form, letter from a government agency requesting a vital record, or lease/rental agreement. Copies may be issued
without such legal authorization when valid proof of death of the named subject (death certificate, published obituary, burial record or
permit, cremation record) is supplied.

PLEASE PRINT INFORMATION NEEDED TO LOCATE THE BIRTH CERTIFICATE.

Father’s Name Mother’s Name
(first/middle/last) (first/middle/last)

Child’s Name Birth Date Gender M F
(first/middle/last)

Birth Place (City and County, if known)

Order Authorization Supplied: Self Parent/Guardian Power of Attorney/Notarized authorization
Court Order/Authorization Proof of Death of Named Subject

By my signature below, | state that | am the person | represent myself to be herein, and | affirm that the information submitted on this form is
complete and accurate and submitted subject to the criminal penalties set forth at Maryland Code Annotated, Health-General Section 4-227.

Signature Date

FEES: All birth certificates are certified. The fee is $25.00 per copy. If the search provides no record, the fee is not returned, and a letter
confirming that the Archives does not hold the document will be issued. Payment can be accepted by personal or corporate check or money order
(payable to the Maryland State Archives), or major credit card (MasterCard or Visa.) You may order in person at the Archives, by United States
Mail, by fax to 410-974-2525, or by email to msa.helpdesk@maryland.gov.

ORDERING INFORMATION

# COPIES REQUESTED

NAME (Print)

MAILING ADDRESS CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE

TELEPHONE # EMAIL

CREDIT CARD : VISA, MASTERCARD CREDIT CARD #

EXPIRATION DATE SECURITY CODE (LAST 3 NUMBERS IN SIGNATURE BLOCK)

NAME OF CARDHOLDER

BC-06
MSARS
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