MARYLAND

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONSP.O. BOX 6486, ANNAPOLIS, MD 21401-0486 PHONE (410) 269-2840

William G. Voelp, Chairman Vacant, Vice Chairman Severn E. S. Miller Justin Williams T. Sky Woodward



Linda H. Lamone Administrator

Nikki Charlson Deputy Administrator

August 31, 2022

Via Electronic Mail

The Honorable Paul Pinsky, Chair Senate Education, Health & Environmental Affairs Committee Miller Senate Office Building, Suite 2W 11 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401 The Honorable Vanessa E. Atterbeary, Chair House Ways and Means Committee House Office Building, Room 131 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: Addendum to Report required by Election Law Article § 1-303.2(e) (MSAR #13223)

Dear Senator Pinsky and Delegate Atterbeary:

This letter serves as an addendum to the above referenced report dated August 4, 2022, in which I stated that we would provide to you the requested data that we were unable to provide at the time we submitted the report. Specifically, I am referring to the number of eligible voters who registered to vote, attempted to vote, and voted successfully by absentee ballot during the immediately preceding calendar year.

In the previous calendar year (2021), 117 incarcerated individuals registered to vote. 114 of those who registered are currently active voters, and 3 are currently inactive voters. Prior to 2021, 1,429 incarcerated individuals were already registered to vote. Therefore, at the end of 2021, there was a total of 1,546 incarcerated individuals under the supervision of the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services registered to vote. Since there were not any State elections in 2021, there is no data on voting by mail-in ballot.

Thank you for the opportunity to share this information with you. We look forward to sharing more complete information with you soon. If you have questions, do not hesitate to contact me or have your staff contact Tracey Hartman at (410) 269-2931 or traceye.hartman@maryland.gov.

Sincerely,

Linda H. Lamone,

Administrator

LL/teh

cc: The Honorable Bill Ferguson, President, Senate of Maryland The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker, Maryland House of Delegates Sarah Albert, Department of Legislative Services (5 copies)