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FAREWELL TO BOARD MEMBERS 
 

Tyme Gigliotti, L.Ac., Barbara Cronin, Consumer 
 Dr. Charles Griffin, Consumer 

 
At this time, the Board must bid farewell to members Tyme Gigliotti, L.Ac.,  
Barbara Cronin and Dr. Charles Griffin.  All three members dedicated endless time, 
knowledge and energy to the Board and we would like to thank them for their efforts 
and many accomplishments throughout their terms.  
 
Tyme Gigliotti, appointed in 2003, served as both as Vice Chair and Chair of the 
Board. With his expertise as a practitioner, he was able to give the Board sound 
advice on professional matters and worked diligently to protect the interests of 
Maryland citizens.   
 
Barbara Cronin completed a long term service of 10 years.   As a former elementary 
school principal, Ms. Cronin served as an attentive consumer member and stepped 
in as the Board’s Secretary.  As a crafty word smith, she assisted in editing many 
regulation changes, minutes and legislative proposals.  She also provided the Board 
with her valuable perspective as a patient. 
 
Charles Griffin was appointed in 2003.  As a consumer member for other health 
occupational boards for many years, Dr. Griffin was able to steer the board in the 
right direction with his expertise in Board policies.  He also served as Chair for the 
Consumer Advisory Committee. 
  
The Board would like to thank all three members for their hard work, expertise, 
diligence and dedication throughout their terms.  YOU WILL BE MISSED! 

WELCOME NEW BOARD MEMBERS 
Corinne Axelrod and Deneb Fallabella 

 
Corinne Axelrod is a 2001 graduate of the Maryland Institute of Traditional 
Chinese Medicine (MITCM).  She has a B.A. degree in Medical Anthropology, 
where she studied Tibetan medicine, and a Masters in Public Health degree in 
health policy from the University of California, Berkeley. After graduating from 
MITCM, she continued her studies in Shanghai, China, and now maintains a 
part-time practice in her home in Kensington, MD.  Corinne is the former Vice-
president of the American Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, 
and she continues to be active in promoting and preserving acupuncture and 
Oriental medicine on the national level. 
 
Deneb A. Falabella, B.A., M.Ac., L.Ac., NADA Certified ADS, Dipl. Ac. 
(NCCAOM), is a graduate of Muhlenberg College and the Traditional Acupuncture 
Institute.  She is currently serving at the TAI Sophia Institute as the Associate 
Director of the Master of Acupuncture Program.  Ms. Falabella has been a 
practitioner and member of the staff at the Institute since 1999.  She holds a 
certificate in Chinese Herbal Medicine and enjoys complementing acupuncture with 
herbs to help patients regain their natural state of wellness. 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Page 2

DON’T LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU!! 
TWO MONETARY PENALTIES THAT CAN AFFECT THE RENEWAL OF YOUR LICENSE 
 1.  Delinquent Child Support Payment:  Professional License Suspension Program 

Under Family Law Article 10-119.3, the Child Support Enforcement Administration (CSEA) under the 
Department of Human Resources, is authorized to refer the names of delinquent payees to health 
professional licensing boards to request the suspension of their professional license.  The CSEA will 
send notification to licensing boards when a practitioner is in arrears more than 120 days under the 
most recent court order. If payments are not made, practitioners could face suspension of their 
professional license or the denial of an initial application. 

Practitioners will have 15 days of the date of receiving the notice of referral to a licensing board to pay 
the arrears in full or request an investigation of the accuracy of the information contained in the notice.   

Before a license is suspended, the Board must send written notice of suspension to the individual 
including their right to contest the action.  The only cases that can be contested will be those 
demonstrating mistaken identity.   

2.  Tax Clearances for Renewal of License 
The Board has encountered several practitioners who have experienced problems renewing their 
licenses due to unpaid taxes.  The Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2003 requires that the 
Board must first verify that all renewing licensees have paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment 
insurance contributions before renewing their license.  Therefore, the Board of Acupuncture checks  
with the State Comptroller’s Office to verify that a licensee applying for renewal has paid or satisfactorily 
arranged to pay state taxes before the Board can issue a license. 
 
If your tax payments are not current, the Board cannot issue a license to you until your taxes are paid or 
are accounted for payment.  Any renewal applicant who may owe outstanding taxes or unemployment 
insurance contributions should satisfy these debts before attempting to renew his or her license.  If the 
debt cannot be satisfied, the applicant should contact the appropriate party (at the Comptroller’s Office 
or at Labor, Licensing and Regulation) to work out a satisfactory payment plan.   
 
For questions or concerns regarding this matter, please feel free to call the Comptroller’s Compliance 
Division at 410 974-2432 or toll-free at 1-888-674-0016, for further information.   

BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE CODE OF ETHICS 
The Board believes that it is worthwhile to periodically review its Code of Ethics, which can be found 
under Code of Maryland Regulations, COMAR 10.26.03. Copies of the regulation as well as an 
Ethics Guideline booklet are available on the Board’s website:   www.dhmh.state.md.us/bacc  
 
The Guidebook is a collective summary of practice guidelines and is designed to provide a quick 
reference on current laws and rules of the Board.  The Guidebook should not be used in place of 
knowing and understanding the actual statute and regulations as adopted by the Board.  The 
policies cited are subject to change after publication and are not binding when determining state law 
or regulation.   
 
You should always check on current law or regulation before making any decisions that might affect 
your practice.  The Board also recommends that you seek the advice of attorney for professional, 
legal or business advice before making a decision in your practice.  If you have questions 
concerning the guidelines, or would like a printed copy, please contact the Board at 410-764-4766. 
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Continuing Education 
The Board requires that for every two years of licensure, 40 hours of continuing education is earned for 
renewal.  It is the responsibility of the licensee to maintain documentation of continuing education.  
Documentation is acceptable for the May or November 2-year cycle as follows: 
 

Month of Expiration   Timeframe for accrual of CEU 
November 2010   December 1, 2008 - November 30, 2010 
May 2011    June 1, 2009- May 31, 2011 

 
THE BOARD DOES NOT REQUIRE THAT YOU SUBMIT PAPER DOCUMENTATION OF CEU HOURS 
UNLESS YOU ARE SELECTED FOR AUDIT.  You must simply list the courses you have completed online 
or on the paper application.  If you are selected for audit, the Board will request that you provide copies of 
the following documentation of your hours with your renewal form.  Documentation that does not contain 
the following information will be returned.  If replacement documentation is not received, renewal of your 
license will not be granted. 
 
Continuing education documentation must contain the following information in order to be acceptable to 
the Board. 
• Must be on sponsor letterhead 
• Must have the complete name of course 
• Must have number of credit hours received 
• Must have date(s) credit hours were received 
• Must have signature of instructor 

 
Licensees who have not met the continuing education requirement due to extreme hardship may request 
an extension of time to meet the requirement. A request for a time extension must be in writing to the 
Board, and must outline a plan for completing the requirement, and must be received by the Board prior to 
the deadline for expiration. The Board has sole discretion in granting/denying extension requests. 
 
A licensee will not be renewed unless the continuing education requirement has been met. Licensees who 
fail to meet this requirement must apply for reinstatement. 
 
The CEU breakdown is as follows: 
• At least 25 hours in formally organized programs which are relevant to the practice of 

acupuncture.  
 
• Not more than 15 hours of training in accredited programs which will assist a licensee to carry 

out the licensee's professional responsibilities such as management courses, computer training, 
CPR, western medicine, massage, foreign language training for translators of relevant texts, or 
educational methodology for teachers of acupuncture  

 
• Not more than 15 hours teaching acupuncture and related oriental medical therapies  

 
• At least 3 hours in ethics/professional boundary training every 4 years. 

This means that those of you renewing in November 2010 will be required to earn 3 hours of 
continuing education by November 2014.  Those renewing in May 2011 will be required to earn 3 
hours in ethics by May 2015.   
 

• Not more than 10 credit hours in pro bono activity.  1 credit hour for each 3 hours of pro bono 
activity is allowed per renewal cycle.   
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SUPERVISORS/EXPERT WITNESSES FOR DISCIPLINARY CASES 
WANTED 

 
The Board is looking for qualified Maryland acupuncture licensees to provide 
expertise in disciplinary cases, or to supervise licensees who have been 
disciplined and require supervision. 
 
The Board is currently compiling a list of available supervisors/experts from 
which it can draw names as needed.  Licensees with knowledge in boundary 
issues, professional conduct, sexual misconduct, herbal medicine, western 
medicine, acupuncture, oriental body works, and other oriental therapies, 
may apply.  Applicants must have been in practice for a minimum of five 
years and must fill out an application provided by the Board. 
 
Volunteers will be compensated at the rate of $75 per hour.  Supervisors will 
be compensated by the practitioner. 

 
Feel free to call the Board to request an application for either placement.

IMPORTANT 
DUPLICATE LICENSES 

The Board would like to remind licensees that you are required that to 
post an official license in every office, clinic, or practice setting in 
which you are working.  It is no longer permissible to post Xerox or 
scanned copies of your license in your office. The Board will furnish an 
official duplicate of your license to any licensed acupuncturist who 
currently resides in Maryland, free of cost. 
 
The duplicate license request must be made in writing and an 
address must be given for each duplicate license requested.  Only 
one duplicate will be granted for each office.  If at anytime a license is 
lost or destroyed, you may request a duplicate, in writing, stating the 
circumstance under which the license was lost or destroyed.   

 

BOARD 
COMPOSITION 

BOARD MEMBERS 

 
CHAIR: 

Steven Kaufman, L.Ac 
PROFESSIONAL MEMBER 

VICE CHAIR: 
Grant Zhang, L.Ac. 

PROFESSIONAL MEMBER 
 

Kate Carter, L. Ac. 
PROFESSIONAL MEMBER 

Corinne Axelrod, L. Ac. 
PROFESSIONAL MEMBER 

Deneb Fallabella,  L.Ac. 
PROFESSIONAL MEMBER 

Barbara Cronin 

CONSUMER MEMBER 

Charles Griffin, Ed.D. 

CONSUMER MEMBER 

***************************** 

 
STAFF 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: 
Penny K. Heisler 

heislerp@dhmh.state.md.us   
ADMINISTRATIVE 

ASSISTANT 
Cynthia Dobbins 

dobbinsc@dhmh.state.md.us  
BOARD COUNSEL 
Richard Bloom, AAG 

 
 

DON’T WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE  
TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE 

Unfortunately, the end of the May renewal period occurred over the 
Memorial Day holiday weekend and many of you waited until the last 
minute to renew.  Because of the State holiday and a furlough day, the 
Board’s office was closed for 5 days.  
 
Those of you who waited until the last minute to renew were unable to 
contact staff over the long weekend to resolve problems and you had to 
wait until Tuesday, June 1, which, unfortunately, was the past the 
expiration date of your license.  This caused panic in many of you and 
ruined some holidays.  It is therefore in your best interest to ensure that 
you renew promptly and give your self enough time to avoid any 
problems in the future.   
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What are the requirements for late renewal, being on inactive status and reinstatement? 

LATE RENEWAL:  A late renewal means that you have sent in your renewal application within a 30-day 
grace period after the expiration date of your license.  If you file a late renewal, you will be required to pay a 
$100 late fee. Please remember that a late renewal only applies if you submit your application and fee within 
30 days after the expiration date.  

PLEASE NOTE THAT IF YOU FAIL TO RENEW YOUR LICENSE ON TIME YOU MAY BE CONSIDERED 
PRACTICING WITHOUT A LICENSE AND MAY BE CHARGED IN VIOLATION OF THE MARYLAND 

ACUPUNCTURE PRACTICE ACT. 
 

REINSTATEMENT:  If you submit your renewal application more than 30 days after the expiration date, 
you will be required to reinstate your license.  This means that you failed to renew within the 30-day grace 
period and will have to pay the renewal fee and a reinstatement fee of $200.  You will also have to provide 
proof of 40 hours of CEU’s for every 2 years your license has lapsed.  

 
INACTIVE:  Recommended for licensees who will not be practicing acupuncture in Maryland for more than 2 
years.  If you know that you will be out of state for a period or want to go on maternity leave, you may think 
about placing your license on inactive status. This process avoids the higher cost of reinstatement.  To 
become inactive you simply complete an inactive application, pay a $100 fee and request that you be placed 
on an inactive list.  Upon your return to your Maryland practice, you can easily fill out a renewal form, pay the 
renewal fee and provide documentation of 40 CEU’s for every 2 years you are inactive.  Inactive status is 
limited to a 6 year time period. 

LATE RENEWAL, INACTIVE, REINSTATEMENT
 

ACUPUNCTURE TREATMENTS OUTSIDE THE OFFICE 
 HEALTH FAIRS AND OTHER PUBLIC FORUMS 

 
The Board of Acupuncture frequently receives questions regarding the proper standards of practice at 
health fairs and public venues.  Treating individuals at such locations will require the same measure of 
care and privacy that you would offer to your patients within the confines of your private office. 
 
If you offer a trial treatment to individuals at open forums, you must ensure that the following 
procedures are followed or completed: 
 

1. Informed consent form 
2. History and evaluation 
3. Follow up care 
4. Treatment rendered in a private place 
5. Record of individual is maintained for 5 years 
6. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPPA)  
7. Clean needle techniques, universal precautions, proper sanitation and hygiene 

 
Your contact information should also be provided in case of an adverse reaction. 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Board Meeting Schedule 

 
The Board of Acupuncture traditionally meets on the second Tuesday of every other 
month, starting at 1:00 p.m.  Scheduled months are September, November, January, 
March, May, and July. 
 
All meetings are held at 4201 Patterson Avenue in Baltimore, usually at 1 PM on the 
first floor.   
 
These meetings are open to the public and you are encouraged to attend.  Please call 
the Board before the meeting to confirm the proper time and room number.   
 

MARYLAND 
ACUPUNCTURE BOARD 
4201 Patterson Ave 

Baltimore, MD 21215 
Unit 252 


