Md. Lower Judiciary Reform Bill Goes Into Effect Today The Washington Post (1923-1954); Jun 1, 1939; ProQuest Historical Newspapers The Washington Post (1877 - 1993)

## Md. Lower Judiciary Reform Bill Goes Into Effect Today

Maryland's lower judiciary reform law, revamping the ancient justice of the peace system, goes into effect throughout the State today.

Gov. O'Conor yesterday issued an incomplete list of trial magistrates named under the new law, the As-Included sociated Press reported. in the list are five magistrates for Montgomery and Prince Georges counties.

The Montgomery County pointees are Donald A. De Lashmutt, of Rockville; James C. Christopher, of Bethesda, and Ralph G. Shure, of Park. Those named Prince Georges are Alan Bowie, of Brandywine, and Walter L. Green, of College Fark.

De Lashmutt has been serving as county police court judge under the old judiciary system since May 1. He held the same office from 1932 to

Christopher is a former deputy clerk to the county commissioners and a former law associate of Judge Stedman Prescott, before the latter was named to the Circuit Court Shure, a practicing attorbench. ney in Takoma Park, is a graduate of the University of Maryland and Georgetown University law school.

Bowie is a former Prince Georges County State's attorney. Like De Lashmutt, he has been serving as police court judge since May 1 under the old judiciary system. Green is a practicing attorney at Hyattsville and has been active in Democratic politics for a number of This is his first public office. years.

Under the new judiciary system. the justices of the peace are classed as trial and committing magistrates. The authority of the latter is limited to setting bond and holding prisoners for trail before the trial magistrates.

Other trial magistrates named by the Governor yesterday, according to the Associated Press. are:

Allegany County—Oliver H. Bruce. Ir: Prank A. Pardew, both of Cumberland: Owen L. Porter, Joseph A. Peldman. Prostbury: Edward S. Moran. Westernport; Bernard F. McPartland, Lonaconing; Aloysius Monahan, Mount Savage; Thomas E Stakem, Midland, Roy S. Bowman, Cresaptown, James T Logsdon, Barton,

One substitute magistrate not named Baltimore County—John B. Rowe. Catonsville. J Frederick C Offut. Cockeysvilie: Michael J. Birmingham. Essex: Clarence G Luken. Fullerton. Charles H. Doins. Halethorpe: W. Evans Anderson. Parkton: Charles A. Webb. Pikesville. H. Doinz, Halethorpe: W. Evans Anderson, Parkton; Charles A. Webb. Pikesville, Frances Scott Rhodes, Reisterstown, Thomas F. McDonough. Sparrows Point, Milton R. Smith. Towson, One substitute, three regular maxistrates not named Calvert County—William W. Duke, Prince Frederick Two unnamed.
Cairoll County—John Wood Westminster; Unneant Tubman, Manchester, Substitute unnamed.

Substitute unnamed.

Cecil County—G. Reynolds Sash, Ek-ton. Four unnamed. Dorchester County—J Richard Jones Cambridge, George W. James, aubstitute Reynolds Sash, Elk-Jones.

Cambridge

Cambridge.
Frederick County: Alton Y Bennett.
Manuel M. Weinberg, Frederick City, Francis Campbell. Emmitsburg. Two unnamed
Howard County: Louis M. Leimbach. Ellicott City; J. Lewis Thompson. Elk Ridge:
Howard U. Gosnell. Savage. George E. George E. Taylor, jr., substitute.

Kent County. Clarence M. Melvin, tertown: Richard H. Collins, substitute

Queen Annes County: J. lmer Anthony, Centreville: William T. Callahan, substi-tute. tute.

tute.
Somerset County: L. Shanley Ford,
Princess Anne: Fred N. Holland, Crisfield.
Substitute unnamed.
Talbot County: J. Fletcher Clark. Easton;
Lee S. Gillis, substitute.
Washington County: Harry F. Snyder.
Martin V. Bostetter, Hagerstown, J. Preston Roules, Hancely, Ellers, G. Miller. ton Bowles. Hancock: Elmer G. Boonsboro. Two unnamed. Wicomica County: E. Sheldon Salisbury. Substitute unnamed. Miller,