## Goldsborough Easy Victor in Prince Georges

Senator Polls 2,563 Votes in G. O. P. Race for Governorship.

Senator Phillips Lee Goldsborough last night was declared to have carried Prince Georges County for the Republican nomination for Governor of Maryland. John Phillip Hill carried the county for United States Senator and William Newton Jackson led for State comp-

troller.

An official canvas by election supervisors late yesterday showed pervisors late yesterday showed Senator Goldsborough to have 2,563 first choice and 65 second choice votes. Harry Nice came second with 1,344 first choice and 163 second choice votes.

H. Webster Smith trailed far in the rear. The final count gave him 82 first choice and 34 second choice votes.

France St.

France Showing Surpri

France Showing Surprise.

In striking contrast with the large number of votes given Hill, who is well known in Prince Georges County, local Republicans gave former Senator Joseph I, France only 593 first choice votes and 121 second choice votes. C. Wilbur Miller ran second to Hill with 799 first choice and 64 second choice votes.

In the race for State comptroller, Frederick Adkins, who had been "given" the edge on Jackson, recived only 1,300 votes to Jackson, recived only 1,300 votes to Jackson, from Frince Georges County.

Among the county candidates, George Burroughs, one of the youngest members of the county bar, staged one of the greatest surprises of the primaries when he gave United States Commissioner J. Frank Parran "a run for his money" for the office of State's attorney, Although Parran, former State's attorney and veteran in the political field, polled 2,283 votes, Burroughs received 1,204.

"Organization" Wins Out.

"Organization" Wins Out.

"Organization" Wins Out.

The so-called "organization ticket" swept to victory in practically every case. For county commissioner the votes were: Robert A. Bennett, 3,032; John M. Bowie, 3,215; William A. Duvall. 3,148; Elroy A. Gasch. 2,456, and J. Bryant Morrison, 2,456. All were "organization" men. Herbert E. Rawlings lost with 1,540 votes.
For sheriff, Joseph W. Wyvill, jr., receiver 2,102 votes to win over J. Bearnard Beall, who received 1,602. For the Republican State Central committee, the winners were John M. Littlepage, 2,469 votes; Dr. Thomas E. Latimer, 2,158 votes; George N. Bowen, "anitorganization" man. 2,029 votes; A. E. Burgess, 2,018 votes; Charles Greenleaf, 1,946, and William J. Griffith, 1,862 votes.

The delegates selected for the State convention are Walter R. Davis. 2,430; Harold W. Orcutt, 2,135; J. Wilson Ryon, 2,044; James P. Curlly, 2,034 votes; James E. Brooks, "antiorganization." 1,921 votes, and Howard W. Spicknell, 1,883 votes.

Ritchie Outstrips Conley.

Ritchie Outstrips Conley

Ritchie Outstrips Conley.

Shortly after polling officials began counting votes. Wednesday night, Gov. Ritchie took a substantial lead over his opponent, Dr. Charles H. Conley. The final count was Ritchie, 5.870; Conley, 1.522.

Gov. Ritchie's running mate, George L. Radcilife, took an almost equal lead over William Milnes, Maloy for the Senatorial nomination, The total for Radcliffe was 5.613, against 1,294 votes for Maloy, Representative Stephen W. Gambill, seeking reelection from the Fifth Congressional District, completely outdistanced Dr. William Klemm, of Mount Rainier, with a final vote of 6,373 to 916.

The most colorful race, from the county standpoint, lay between State's Attorney Alan Bowie and Robert W. McCullough, seeking the Democratic nomination for State's attorney.

McCullough, though taking Bla-

Robert W. McCullough, seeking the Democratic nomination for State's attorney, McCullough, though taking Bladensburg, his home district, failed to get the expected votes and went down to defeat under a 5-to-2 majority for Bowie. The vote was: Bowie, 5,437; McCullough, 2,412.

## Regular Candidates Win.

In practically every instance the Democratic "organization ticket" claimed victory. J. Guy Bell polled 6,188 votes over his independent opponent, Roger B. Oursler, for the nomination for sheriff.

For county commissioner, the

men selected were James B. Berry, 6,535; Joseph H. Blanford, 6,593; Perry Boswell, 6,497; Vinton Duvall Cockey, 6,295, and Harry W. McNamee. George Clagett Sellner was defeated. He received only 2,360 votes.
For judge of the orphans court, the three winners were John H. Benll, 6,429; Philip G. Miller, 6,099, and Millard Thorne, 5,025 votes. Benson P. McDaniel received only 2,409 votes.
For the Democratic State central committee, the members of which are elected by the primary vote, the following were selected: Mary W. Ord. 5,609; Charles S. Early, 6,151; George N. Palmer, 6,040; Frank B. Smith, 5,599, and John D. Smith, 4,963. The defeated were Julius E. Coffren, 2,491, and Cornelius S. Ryan, 2,884.