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rier. The identification marker should be affixed to the vehicle in an
easily visible position and the registration card carried in the cab
of the vehicle. The identification marker and registration card shall
remain the property of the State of Maryland and may be recalled
for any violation of the provisions of this sub-title or of the regula-
tions promulgated thereunder. The Comptroller also shall provide by
regulation for the registration of every such vehicle, for a fee of one
dollar each. Registration cards and identification markers shall be
issued on Tan annual} a twelve month basis [as of January 1] effec-
tive April 1 of each year and shall be valid through the next suc-
ceeding [December 311 March 31. The enforcement of this sub-
section shall not become effective until April 15 of each year provid-
ing the motor carrier has the previous year’s identification marker
displayed on his vehicles and the registration card in the cab of his
vehicles before entry into the State of Maryland. It shall be illegal
to operate or to cause to be operated in this State any vehicle defined
in Section 412 hereinabove unless the vehicle bears the identification
marker required by this section; provided, however, the Comptroller
by regulation may exempt from the requirement for displaying the
said identification marker such vehicles as urban and public transit
vehicles or others if in his discretion they are clearly identifiable and
the effective enforcement of this sub-title will not suffer thereby and
further provided that vehicles bearing valid, registration plates
issued by this State shall be exempt from the provisions of this
section. In addition and for a period not exceeding twenty-five days
as to any one motor carrier the Comptroller by letter or telegram
may authorize the operation of a vehicle or vehicles without the
identification marker required when the enforcement of this for that
period would cause undue delay and hardship in the operation of the
said vehicle or vehicles, and further, the Comptroller by regulation
may authorize the issuance of a book of temporary twenty-five day
permits. The fee for these permits and conditions for the issuance
of such permits shall be set forth by regulations promulgated by the
Comptroller.

(b) Any motor carrier, as defined by Section L12, may in lieu of
annual registration apply for a Flat Fee Permit, if in the course of
their operations they operate on Maryland highways no more than
three times in any one calendar year. The fee for this permit shall
be five dollars and the conditions for issuance of said permit shall
be set by regulations promulgated by the Comptroller.

425.

(a) The Comptroller may impose a penalty, which shall be in addi-
tion to any other penalty imposed by this sub-title, for the refusal
or failure to file a report within the time prescribed pursuant to this
sub-title, such penalty to be imposed under the provisions of Section
137 (b) of Article 56 of this Code as amended from time to time.
Failure to comply with any rule or regulation issued by the Comp-
troller pursuant to the provisions of this sub-title shall be deemed
to be a violation thereof, each such failure or violation constituting
a separate offense and being punishable by a minimum fine of $20.00
and not exceeding [$500.00] $200.00 for each such offense. The
penalty shall be collectible by the process of the Comptroller as pro-
vided by law. In addition to imposing such penalty, or without
imposing any penalty, the Comptroller may suspend or revoke any




