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203-A. It shall be unlawful and a misdemeanor, punish-
able by a fine of not less than five dollars ($5.00) nor more
‘than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00), or by imprisonment
for not more than ten (10) years, or both, for any one to sell
or purchase within the limits of the State of Maryland any
used or second-hand motor vehicle for which no certificate of
title has been issued by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles
unless the following provisions of this section shall be first
complied with.

Any one desiring so to sell such motor vehicle shall first
make application to the said Commissioner for a permit so
to do, appropriately describing therein the vehicle so to be
sold, giving the State, District, County, or City in which the
same is registered and the number of the current registration
marker or tag; the name and address of the registered owner;
and the name and address of the applicant for said permit.
Such application must be subseribed and sworn to and when
filed with the said Commissioner must be accompanied by the
payment of two dollars ($2.00) to cover the estimated average
costs incident to the inquiry hereinafter provided for, such
sum to be accounted for by the said Commissioner as are other
moneys received by him under this Article.

Upon receipt of an application in proper form accompanied
by such payment it shall be the duty of the said Commissioner -
to immediately communicate with the Commissioner of Motor
Vehicles or other proper officer of the State, District, County,
or City named in such application inquiring as to the facts in
said application set forth, which inquiry, when practical, may
be made by telephone or telegraph. Where the request for
such permit is made through a bona fide registered dealer of
this State, as that term is defined in this Article, the applicant
may anticipate the result of such inquiry by furnishing to the
said Commissioner a satisfactory indemnity bond running to
the State of Maryland in the penalty of a sum equal to the
fair value of the said motor vehicle as estimated by the said
Commissioner and guaranteeing to the purchaser of said motor
vehicle the right of the applicant to sell the said motor vehicle
and to pass a good and marketable title thereto. Upon receipt
of satisfactory information or upon the filing of a satisfactory
bond as aforesaid, the said Commissioner shall issue the said
permit over his signature and the seal of his office, appropri-
ately describing therein the vehicle so to be sold, which said
permit must be delivered by the vendor to the vendee at the



